Opera Montmartre

"la pop-opérette qui dynamite la rentrée !"

- Gilles Pouzin, Deontofi.com

"la compagnie qui renouvelle l'opéra"

- Cinzia Rota, Classic Agenda

"bouscule les codes du classique"

- Dominique Boutel, Le 18ème du Mois

The Project

Opera Montmartre is an associative community project that aims to renew popular opera for all ages and audiences. Through its multiple initiatives, Opera Montmartre hopes to contribute to the promotion of opera culture for a new and more diverse public, to offer new opportunities to students through workshops in high school, and to reinforce the community's connection with classical music. Finally, Opera Montmartre aims to delight, surprise and move a new generation with the masterpieces of the past, presented in new and original ways - shorter, more expressive adaptations that nonetheless do not sacrifice their musical and dramatic quality.

Our Mission

Opera should not just be a pastime for the elite. The masterpieces of the past, amongst them a large number of French works, are today relatively unknown to the wider public beyond a few familiar melodies. But these works deserve to be presented with passion, renewed for our time with creativity and respect so that a new generation may reappropriate their cultural heritage.

Creative Spaces

We will stage opera outside the traditional well-known venues. We will make opera more financially accessible by performing in unusual spaces, and at the same time create staging and scenery that allow these works to be reimagined in the context of our time.

Gallery Thumb 1 Gallery Thumb 2 Gallery Thumb 3 Gallery Thumb 4

The Community

Opera Montmartre aims to integrate itself into the artistic and social networks of the 18th arrondissement and the cultural programs of the City of Paris. We intend to find and promote local talent, creative use of spaces, and existing cultural treasures. We will reinforce the cultural and artistic community and make opera more accessible. Our members and volunteers will support this project as it becomes, little by little, an enduring cultural institution on the Butte de Montmartre and in Paris. Our connections with musical teaching institutions will allow us to offer training and workshops to help young musicians discover and participate in this extraordinary art form.

Educational Initiatives

The educational initiatives are a key aspect of our project. We will use our program to give opportunities to talented young people and provide workshops and masterclasses where students can immerse themselves in the opera in real life conditions. But our project goes beyond that. We will also do workshops in high school and higher education to provide students with an initiation into this demanding art form that has the power to transform lives. Our founding president Nicholas McRoberts was part of '10 months with school and opera' supported by Opéra Bastille en 2000. He was involved in several opera recitals in suburban high schools. Since then he has been convinced of the usefulness, and even the necessity of bringing opera to young people who have not had the opportunity to discover it in order to enrich the overall French musical landscape.

Funding

Today, opera tickets are too expensive. Big productions are financed largely through public funding, but many of these creations are moving further and further from the preoccupations and taste of the wider public. We will ensure that Opera Montmartre can be accessible to everyone at reasonable prices. The Opera must be able to run on the basis of its ticket sales and a creative and flexible way of working. We will look for both private and public partners to help Opéra Montmartre to tour and bring Opera to the four corners of France. We will stage our first productions in 2019-2020 thanks to the support of our members and partners.

Our Partners

  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners
  • Our Partners

Une Vie Parisienne

We will stage three original works in three exciting spaces.

Press

The Team

MISE EN SCENE Capucine Maillard
DIRECTION MUSICALE Pierre Walter
CHOREGRAPHIE Hervé Sika

SCENOGRAPHIE Doriane Frereau COSTUMES Juliette de Romémont DIRECTION ARTISTIQUE Nicholas McRoberts REGIE GENERALE / CREATION LUMIERE Alexandre Foin COORDINATRICE ARTISTIQUE Juliette Delvienne ASSISTANTE MISE EN SCENE Cristina Becerra SCRIPTE Mariam Dimitri PHOTOGRAPHE Philippe Denis CAPTATION Idriss Halfaoui, Frédéric Blancot, Elise Saint-Upéry

avec Alexandre Bussereau, Véronique Chevallier, Line Gaubert-Verrier, Jeanne Mendoche Aurélien Pernay, Louis Reumont, Timour Sadoullaïev, Pierre-Michaël Thoreau

et Pierre Bisson, Bertrand Boucheny, Manon Chivet, Christelle Fauche, Laëtitia di Fiore, Michel Gille, Laurent Huillo, Anne Jayez, Marie Lerebours, Irene Maillet, Caroline de Malet, Françoise Mathieu, Valerie Mesnage, Anne Salinger et Jérôme Wukovits

CHARGEES DE FUNDRAISING Axelle Roi, Marie-Pierre Lamotte

Opéra Montmartre

Le Projet

Opéra Montmartre est un projet associatif et communautaire visant à rendre l'opéra accessible à tous en renouvelant l'approche. Sous ses différentes initiatives, Opéra Montmartre espère contribuer au rayonnement de la culture auprès d'un nouveau public plus diversifié, offrir de nouvelles perspectives aux jeunes grâce à des stages et ateliers au collège/lycée, tout en renforçant les liens sociaux locaux autour de la culture. Enfin, Opéra Montmartre entend séduire, ravir et émouvoir une nouvelle génération avec les chefs-d'œuvre du passé, présentés de manière originale dans des formats plus courts, plus expressifs sans rien perdre de leurs qualités musicales et dramatiques.

La Mission Culturelle

L’opéra ne devrait pas être un divertissement uniquement réservé à une élite. Les chefs-d’œuvre du passé, dont un grand nombre d'ouvrages françaises, sont aujourd’hui méconnus du grand public en dehors de quelques mélodies familières. Or ces œuvres méritent d’être défendues avec passion, dans une approche en phase avec notre époque, mêlant créativité et respect, afin qu’une nouvelle génération puisse se réapproprier cet héritage culturel.

Des Lieux Insolites

En sortant l’opéra de grandes salles traditionelles, nos mises en scèene, ciblant des lieux originaux permettront de faire renaître ces œuvres dans des décors de notre temps, tout en les rendant accessibles à tous les budgets.

Gallery Thumb 1 Gallery Thumb 2 Gallery Thumb 3 Gallery Thumb 4

Un Projet Communautaire

Opéra Montmartre a pour vocation de s’intégrer dans le paysage associatif du 18ème arrondissement et dans la politique culturelle de la Ville de Paris. Nous chercherons à valoriser et promouvoir les talents du quartier, les lieux insolites, les trésors culturels. Nous nous efforcerons de renforcer les liens sociaux autour de l’art en rendant l’opéra populaire et accessible. Nos adhérents et bénévoles porteront ce projet afin qu’il s'inscrive dans la durée sur la Butte de Montmartre et plus largement à Paris. Des liens avec des institutions d’éducation musicale nous permettront d’offrir des stages et des ateliers pour que les jeunes aient la possibilité de découvrir et de participer à cet art extraordinaire.

Les Initiatives Educatives

Le volet éducatif fait partie intégrante de notre projet. Nous nous servirons de notre programmation pour donner des opportunités aux jeunes talents et pour créer des ateliers et des master-classes où des élèves pourront se plonger dans l’opéra dans des conditions réelles. Mais notre projet va au-delà. Nous souhaitons aussi intervenir dans les collèges et lycées pour ouvrir d’autres possibilités professionnelles aux étudiants, leur faire découvrir un art, une discipline qui pourraient transformer leur vie. Notre président fondateur Nicholas McRoberts a participé en 2000 à l’initiative “Dix Mois autour de l’école et de l’opéra” avec le soutien de l’Opéra Bastille. Il a participé à plusieurs récitals d’opéra donnés dans des Zones d’Education Prioritaire. Il est depuis convaincu de l’utilité, et même de la nécessité de faire découvrir l’opéra à des jeunes éloignés de cet art afin d'enrichir le paysage musical français.

Le Financement

Aujourd’hui une place pour l’opéra coûte souvent trop cher. Les grands formats sont soutenus à coup de subventions importantes mais les créations s’éloignent de plus en plus des préoccupations et des goûts du public populaire. Nous nous battrons pour que l’opéra puisse exister et être accessible à tous à un prix modeste. L’opéra doit pouvoir fonctionner grâce aux recettes de billeterie et à une créativité à toute épreuve. Nous chercherons aussi des partenariats publics et privés pour permettre à Opéra Montmartre de se déplacer et aller faire vivre l’opéra aux quatre coins de la France. Nous monterons nos premières productions en 2019-2020 grâce au soutien de nos adhérents et partenaires.

Nos Partenaires

Nous remercions nos partenaires et soutiens financiers.

  • Nos Partenaires
  • Nos Partenaires
  • Nos Partenaires
  • Nos Partenaires
  • Nos Partenaires
  • Nos Partenaires
  • Nos Partenaires
  • Nos Partenaires
  • Nos Partenaires
  • Nos Partenaires

Le Programme

Nous proposerons trois œuvres originales dans des lieux inattendus.

L'équipe

MISE EN SCENE Capucine Maillard
DIRECTION MUSICALE Pierre Walter
CHOREGRAPHIE Hervé Sika

SCENOGRAPHIE Doriane Frereau COSTUMES Juliette de Romémont DIRECTION ARTISTIQUE Nicholas McRoberts REGIE GENERALE / CREATION LUMIERE Alexandre Foin COORDINATRICE ARTISTIQUE Juliette Delvienne ASSISTANTE MISE EN SCENE Cristina Becerra SCRIPTE / RESPONSABLE CHOEUR Mariam Dimitri PHOTOGRAPHE Philippe Denis VIDEOGRAPHE Idriss Halfaoui

avec Alexandre Bussereau, Véronique Chevallier, Line Gaubert-Verrier, Jeanne Mendoche Aurélien Pernay, Louis Reumont, Timour Sadoullaïev, Pierre-Michaël Thoreau

et Pierre Bisson, Bertrand Boucheny, Manon Chivet, Christelle Fauche, Laëtitia di Fiore, Michel Gille, Anne Jayez, Marie Lerebours, Irene Maillet, Caroline de Malet, Valerie Mesnage, Anne Salinger

CHARGEES DE FUNDRAISING Axelle Roi, Marie-Pierre Lamotte